Pregnancy & Birth Books I recommend | Knowledge is power

I have to admit, before becoming pregnant I loved the idea of being a mum/having a baby and being incredibly fortunate enough to experience pregnancy. The one thing I was scared of or tried not to think about was the transition of being pregnant to actually holding my baby in my arms… aka the labour part!!

It’s definitely something in life we are programmed to believe is a terrifying process – the books I am about to share confirmed and spoke about that too!

Anyway, after reading these books I am actually quite excited about the thought of giving birth and holding my baby in my arms! An experience that many women round the world don’t get to experience and I am incredibly grateful that I do and hopefully it will go the way I want/hope for it to. 

The first book I read was Clemmie Hoopers How To Grow a Baby *And Push It Out. I knew way before being pregnant that I would read this book once I was eventually on my pregnancy journey.

I 100% recommend this book. For many reasons…

I loved the fact this book starts from very early on, and is almost a bit of a step by step guide of what to expect each week throughout pregnancy but also helpful tips too. 

With it being written by a midwife, who is also a mother of 4, I felt it was good to get the perspective of someone who has been on both sides of pregnancy and labour/birth. Aka the medical knowledge as well as the view of the patient.

(A bit like the many tips I have received from my momma over the years! A midwife and a mother – so has experience of both sides)

This book explores many aspects in pregnancy and labour all the way through to 42 weeks and briefly what to expect after birth. Including chapters about, birth plans & hospital bags, to should you wax the front garden & pooing in labour! 

Basically it pretty much covers all corners!

With all the books I have read, I have ended up using mini post-it notes to marker pages that I wanted to re-visit closer to the time of making birth plans/preferences, packing hospital bags and so on. 

The second book I read was The Positive Birth Book by MilliHill. 

Now, I won’t lie – I was feeling a bit meh about reading this book. I think because I really wanted to get cracking with reading the 3rd book I had as it also tied in with an online- hypnobirthing course. But I kind of wanted to read that last, so I persevered with reading this one and I am so glad I did!

At first, I wasn’t sold – you know when you just can’t get into a novel and almost give up just as it gets good or you really sink into it. Well that happened with this book. 

Full of useful information, from creating the ultimate birth plan to exploring different birthing options. As well as touching on those first vital early weeks of parenthood.

I again, 100% recommend this book, it’s filled of many positivity birthing options, tips and information on how to figure out the best environment for you to give birth in, and how to get and maintain a positive mindset and how this will influence the kind of birth experience you have.

I love that this book also has stories and experiences of real women who tell their story about giving birth and what worked/didn’t work for them. 

This book really did help give me an incredibly positive outlook on labour and giving birth. 

I guess, this book also helped further shape and confirm my thoughts/wants for my birth preferences and labour. Basically helped me decided what I would rather NOT have during my labour.

On to the next book…Siobhan Miller’s (founder of The Positive Birth Company) Hypnobirthing: Practical Ways to Make Your Birth Better.

I chose to leave this birthing book (second) to last as I also signed up to their digital Hypnobirthing package and thought saving the book to read at the same time as doing their course may help the information and techniques sink in.

I mean… Baby Brain is a real issue!

As well as confirming my choices for birth preferences like the previous books, this company has also helped me learn and develop some breathing techniques, which will hopefully help keep me calm and in control whilst in labour.

At least I can feel slightly prepared for the different stages of labour and what I can expect…roughly!

However… One thing I will say about this book/course (Positive Birth Company) is that it can almost make you feel guilty for opting to give birth in a hospital/midwife led birth centre.

I get it that they are pro home birth, and want to make people who opt for a home birth feel more confident with their decision as it is the more “frowned upon” option that many women feel judged for choosing. But, I couldn’t help but feel like I was I the wrong for choosing to (hopefully) give birth in a midwife led birth centre.

I do understand that the point of their book/company is to explore all options, and to encourage women to make the right decision for them. To let them know that just because a hospital birth appears to be the ‘done thing’, it doesn’t have to be the only option.

Maybe I am taking the book the wrong way, or taking it too personally… I blame the hormones! But this is how it made me feel towards the end, even though a birth centre is the right option for me, for us.

The final book that I am currently making my way through is Milk It by Chantelle Champs.

I had seen this book recommended several times on instagram and immediately jumped over to amazon to order it.

I am really hoping to breastfeed once bubba has arrived. I know it isn’t always possible, but I prepare to give it a really good go. Therefore gaining as much knowledge as I can on the different stages and challenges I may come across is definitely going to help with my breastfeeding journey.

Written by a mother who has faced the struggles of being a first time mum breastfeeding and feeling unsupported to then go on to feed her twins, and facing judgement from others – including her family. Chantelle definitely fills you with confidence that you can achieve your goal if you put your mind to it and don’t be led astray or convinced otherwise by those around you.

You do, what’s best for you and your family.

I have tried to read the books in an order in which I need to know the information. Aka, I didn’t want to be reading the breastfeeding book when I was in my first trimester as your girl had other things to be focusing on and prioritise.

I hope I have given you a brief insight into some of these books which I am so glad exist and I have read and managed to get myself a bit more prepared for what lies ahead.

I have a couple more blog posts I hope to get written & published before Baby Hulme arrives, so watch this space.

In the mean time, you can always check out my previous post all about my Second Trimester experiences here.

until next time,

Han & bump xx

Leave a comment